Reviews – Over 300 private Charters
Press reviewsGuest reviews

Boat International USA


“Navigating the historical Canal du Midi”

9 pages article on the Canal du Midi Cruise onboard the “Roi Soleil” by Roger Lean-Vercoe

“. . . ‘river yacht’ is perhaps, a more apt description than ‘barge’ . . . but after we had stepped on to the teak-laid aft deck with its six-seater spa pool, been introduced to the crew . . . and presented with a welcoming glass of chilled champagne, the term ‘river superyacht’ came to mind.”

“. . . we invariably dined at the semi-circular table that nestled in the counter stern, which, sheltered by a sun awning and surrounded by a panoramic view, was a delightful setting for alfresco dining and the perfect place to sample the chef’s superb cuisine. Standards such as this, we surmised, must be a rare sight on the canal, as our regal progress was almost enough to unseat one towpath cyclist . . .”

“The canal itself, the beautiful Languedoc scenery and the multitude of other attractions of the region make it a fascinating holiday destination. What better way of experiencing it than from the ‘Roi Soleil’ with its total comfort and world class cuisine.”

Forbes FYI


3 pages article “French Provincial”

by Roger Kimball

“The Roi Soleil . . . is easily the most luxurious craft on the Canal du Midi”

“. . . a dining saloon where J. Paul Getty would feel at home . . .”

“In 1787, Thomas Jefferson took a trip down the canal, ‘Of all the methods of traveling I have ever tried’, he wrote in a letter ‘this is the pleasantest’. If only he had experienced the Roi Soleil”.

“Fit for a Sun King”.

Financial Times Magazine

“How to Spend It’ Magazine”

“Martini on the Locks”

2 pages article by Rupert Wright

“. . . Slowly, around a bend . . . appears a graceful white vessel 30m long, with the sensual lines of a 1920’s river Yacht.”

“. . . like a swan among ducks.”

“. . . This is the only way to travel.”

Robb Report Magazine


“Guide to Wine Regions: Languedoc, France”

by Jordan MacKay

“Take the ultra-deluxe ‘River Yacht Roi Soleil’ . . . Comparable to those of a five star hotel, onboard amenities include a hot tub on the back deck, a fireplace, and a gourmet chef to prepare your meals.”

Power & Motoryacht USA


“River Yacht – an unforgettable week touring the South of France aboard Europe’s most luxurious cruising barge”

6 pages article by Richard Thiel

“. . . gastro-cultural extravaganza within the most luxurious barge ever to cruise Europe . . .”

“Each meal was a revelation, light on sauces and long on the flavor of the main ingredient. It would take pages to describe the cuisine . . .”

“. . . I admired the long, sleek yacht and reflected that never had a dream been fulfilled so well.”

“Everything from the upholstered walls to the luxuriant bedclothes to the deep-pile towels and monogrammed robes is five star.”

View Magazine (Stern)


Double page photo spread & article

French/ German TV ARTE


Roi Soleil was selected to represent the Canal du Midi in a prime time serie on the great canals of the world.

Canal du Midi- First aired July 4, 2011 and regularly since.

The Telegraph


“Ultratravel Magazine”

Five great luxury cruises article.

Maison & Decors – Méditerranée


Croisiere Blanche du Rhone au Canal du Midi

6 pages article by A.M. Masclaux Perron & M. Maurette

“Embarquez pour un voyage de réve.”

“Le Pilote sur un pont avant dévolu au soleil, le chef mettant la touche finale à une mousseline de poulet et chèvre, sa vinaigrette d’olive et tomates, dressées en vaisselle d’apparat, le yacht glisse de Tarascon jusqu’à la secrète Camargue. Profond sofa, plateaux et plans en lave émaillée sur mesure, imprimés tendus sur les murs des vastes cabines, serviettes brodées … la fête est totale.”

“Over 300 private charters…”

“ The trip took us over the moon and back…” Norman Lear, USA



“So many thanks for creating for us an amazingly perfect trip. You were so much fun to be with while being attentive to needs we did not even know we had…”

“…I have no words for this extraordinary experience…fabulous, delicious and beyond any expectations we had…beautiful boat, amazing crew…”

S. Party, Hawaii & Cal. October 2017

“Thank you for curating such an amazing experience. The passion you have for the place, people, food and history shines through…You are blessed to live in such an exceptional part of the world…”

S. Party, Vancouver BC. September 2017


“Many thanks for a fun filled week of food, wine and beautiful scenery. The boat was just so roomy and comfortable. It is definitely on the “bucket list’ for another visit – Thank you for the attention to every detail…”

 

D. Party, Australia, September 2017

 


“…Enjoyed every minute on this wonderful boat. If there is a more terrific vacation packed in seven days we haven’t met it. Thank you for memories for the ages…”

Mc.H

“Unforgettable experience. Wonderful food – matched or exceeded the top tier restaurants worldwide. Individual service unsurpassed. Boat handling by the skipper awe inspiring.

I can’t imagine an improvement.”

 

US Air Force General – CB, August 2017


“We had an amazing time on board Roi Soleil! It was heaven on earth and every day we couldn’t wait to get “BOB” (back on the boat)…”

 

S. Party USA July 2017


“ Dear crew of Roi Soleil,
Words in any language can not begin to describe the gratitude and appreciation that that we have for you and all that you did to make our experience of the canal so special.
We thoroughly enjoyed out time here celebrating our 50th while understanding the history and culture of southern France.
Food, wine and sightseeing could not have been more spectacular! La joie de vivre!…”

 

L. Party, Tampa, FL.


‘An absolute Fabulous Trip!
The outstanding food, expert piloting, superb historic touring and great congeniality of your crew made this trip top of the list.
Far beyond what we’d expected.

 

F. Party USA, October 2016


“It has been the most amazing week, we have loved every minute.
I started the week with 3 friends and ended up with 7.
I am not sure you could do anything better.
Thank you so much!
Visit us in N.Z.

 

G. Party, N.Z June 2016


This has been an exceptional experience, the crew took care of our every need with a seamless dance of expertise and hospitality.
Our chef was outstanding! … serving spectacular food in the most beautiful settings.
The wine and cheese was fabulous and presented with a telling of its history and provenance by our guide, and our exceptional hostess. We learned as we dined and imbibed. All our wishes and expectations were fulfilled … from blueberry pancakes to a sumptuous seafood feast. This trip has been like having Alain Ducasse at each meal!
Our superb guide was completely knowledgeable and passed his passion on to us all.
Through the locks and on through this peaceful canal, our fantastic captain took us on unforgettable voyage of beauty.

 

G.Party,Toronto, Ont. October 2015


This has been an exceptional experience, the crew took care of our every need with a seamless dance of expertise and hospitality.

Damian, our chef, was outstanding! … serving spectacular food in the most beautiful settings.

The wine and cheese was fabulous and presented with a telling of its history and provenance by our guide, Rex and our exceptional hostess, Emily. We learned as we dined and imbibed. All our wishes and expectations were fulfilled … from blueberry pancakes to a sumptuous seafood feast. This trip has been like having Alain Ducasse at each meal!

Our superb guide, Rex, was completely knowledgeable and passed his passion on to us all. 

Through the locks and on through this peaceful canal, our fantastic captain, Finn, took us on unforgettable voyage of beauty.

party,Toronto, Ont. October 2015


What has made it indelible for us has been, above all, the wonderful people who have created this perfect hiatus- unpretentious, unassuming, kind and responsive (and anticipating) to every need or want…

party, Boston, June 2015


Had a great time- The food was better than any other food we ever had on a barge trip

party, USA, June 2014


It was just as enjoyable as our last trip on Roi Soleil ten years ago!

The crew, the food and wines plus the excursions were excellent!

Very nice accomodation. The barge has been well maintained…

We will take another trip.

party, Cal. August 2013


The crew and service were A+. They went out of their way to see our every want and need and did so willingly with great pride in their work. They were fantastic.

The chef is amazing. He not only produced amazing meals but invited us to watch, take notes, gave out recipies…

The accomodation was very nice.

The high points were the food and wines and general ambiance. Add to that the fun excursions.

It was a wonderful overall time and experience!

H& Mc W party, USA, June 2013


What a delightful week out of our busy lives, to have a holliday in France supported by such lovely and attentive people as the crew of Roi Soleil. It has been a perfect slice of time. We could not have written it better had we been writing a favourite novel!

Experiencing navigating the locks, learning the local history from our guide, coming back after a hard afternoon’s explorations to the comforting sight of our hostess with cocktails and snacks as she welcomes us home.

And the food! What can we say? We were thrilled over and over again each meal that our chef presented. He delighted all of our different tastes, every single time with beautiful creativity. We have been well pleased, thankyou for a wonderful holiday!

family, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL. June 2012


What a fantastic trip we had! Our expectations were high but you exceeded even those! The food was fabulous…our tour guide could not have been more fun or informative! The beautiful tables our hostess set and the wonderful 40th anniversary celebration, made the trip so special!

You were all so eager to please and so helpful at everything we needed.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

party, Houston, TX. May 2012


You achieved a sense of warmth, of service, of professionalism and quality that met and surpassed the highest standards!

Thank you for making our week on the Roi Soleil one of the most memorable weeks in our lives.

family, Norwalk, CT. Sept 2011


To quote the maitre de l’ ecluse “We had the best crew, the best boat” and the best food!

To add to “the best of everything” we also had the best weather. Thank you for making our 50th so special!

T.S, Norwalk, CT. Sept. 2011


– a wonderfully creative chef

– a charming hostess

– an eloquent guide and wine specialist

– a calm, cool hand on the tiller

& all a pleasure to have met!

This was a voyage of many firsts…and may it not be the last!!!

Our deepest thanks for a wonderful time!

family, CT. Sept. 2011


As true veterans of barging on the waterways of France, we have no hesitancy in declaring this journey as the finest of them all!

Yes, the food, the wines and the beds were excellent, but what we really appreciated is the caring extended to each one of us.

You were superb in responding to our every request and we thank you most sincerely while hoping that we will be with each and every one of you in the near future again. That’s a real hope for happy travels in France!

B&W McM. party- Illinois – September, 2010


We had heard that “Roi Soleil” was an excellent boat with a very, very, good crew!

But we were wrong:

It was much better than we expected! Of course the scenery was beautiful but the human touch is always the most important and the crew were marvelous.

We will be back!

T& L P. Lisbon – Portugal – September 2010


What a wonderful experience. The perfect balance of fun excursions and utter relaxation.

The food was exquisite and the wine and cheese presentations were as informative as they were delicious.

The crew could not have been nicer or more adept at their jobs. They made us all feel well cared for and totally pampered.

We loved the trip and we thank you!

E&C M. party, USA, June 2010


A sampling from the reviews of Guests who chose to return to experience a different route on their favourite “River Yacht” . . . with our appreciation.

We had an absolutely perfect trip!

The crew could not have been better.

They were attentive to every whim, and went out of their way to find the best choices for us, even when it meant more work . . . Our guests have their own yachts.

Both yachts have always been run with a sense of perfection . . . they were both impressed with the extraordinary level of service and care offered by your team . . .

R.M. New York City, May 2009 (Their 7th week on Roi Soleil since 2003, on different routes)


We are always hesitant to ‘revisit’ a perfect vacation, but this was wonderful! The food was outstanding – as usual. …The chef was especially kind to do a few cooking demos for us – we learned valuable tips to employ at home. . .

All in all a wonderful repeat experience. The first time out we didn’t know what to expect, it was a ‘Wow.’ The repeat was ‘Wow Wow!’

C.L. party, Kansas City, Sept 2006


We’ve slept on silk sheets at the Four Seasons in New York. Paid a king’s ransom for dinner at Phillip Starke’s ultra-trendy restaurant in Hong Kong’s Peninsula Hotel. Sailed the Virgin Islands aboard a luxury sailboat. And generally eaten and drunk our way around the world via a series of four and five star interludes that have left our waistlines bulging and our wallets depleted.

But nothing in our past experience adequately prepared my wife and I, and two other equally-well-traveled couples, for the six idyllic days we recently spent aboard the River Yacht, Roi Soleil.

The food was sublime.
The service was flawless.
The accommodations were awesome.
The scenery was breathtaking.
And the memories we carried back to our land-locked homes in Kansas City were the stuff to last a lifetime.

C.L. party, Kansas City, Sept 2003


Every day a new experience, each better than the last. Thank you for your care and kindness…great food, wonderful wine, beautiful scenery . . .  You are each extraordinary and we look forward to our third voyage on the Roi Soleil!Fondly,

H & S party, California, Sept. 2006


It is always a treat to watch a crew with leadership, great standards, effective working relationships and concern for their “customers”. The six of us have benefited in many ways and you created an experience we will always remember. . .

H & S party, California, May 2004


Cruising is “lovelier the second time around” ! We love Provence and especially the whole crew . . . Thank you all for the great tour and we’ll see you again soon !

& L. S., Illinois, May 2002


We truly had a fabulous time ! There would be nothing we would change during our entire voyage ! You all are really great ! To show how much we loved the trip, we will see you next year in Provence !

& L. S., Illinois, Sept 2001


It’s said to be better the second time around . . . and you have proved it this year! Again . . .

Great Food. Great Sites. Great Company. . . We look forward to seeing some of you in the U.S. in the near future so we can return some of what we received. Thanks again . . . until we meet again.

H & P party, Connecticut, Sept. 2002

© 2018 Barge Roi Soleil Cruises All rights reserved.